Home > Politics > Victory Day parade

Victory Day parade

The government is preparing for the Victory Day parade, which is scheduled to be held on Saturday. For some people in Colombo they have chosen to criticise both the armed forces and the government with sentiment such as “why should we be celebrating a war” or “this is just another opportunity to pump up the forces”.

I personally do not agree with these ideas, most people have chosen to jump on one side or the other (that being either undying support for the government or total opposition to them). For me, I plan on going to the parade on Saturday, not so I can stand with the crowds yelling Jayaweva or waving the national flag in a patriotic fashion, but so that I can enjoy a parade by the military.

I have always been a military nut, from my small days I used to play with my army men recreating mock battles imagining myself part of them. As I grew older, and the horrors of war became more apparent my interest in the topic never faltered. In fact it took on a new dimension and I took up the study of it through reading every possible book I could get my hands on regarding the topic.

So now I have before me an opportunity to go and enjoy a parade which will see thousands of soldiers from different units, military hardware, flyovers by the air-force and naval boats on display in the sea.

This parade for the government is an opportunity to remind people that they defeated terrorism, freed the country and basically deserve the unending power that is before them. This parade for me is an opportunity to satisfy the little boy within who still yearns to see the shiny guns being carried by the men and the women all decked out in their uniforms.

I will definitely be putting up photos of the parade, and prior rehearsals, so do take a look and hopefully you’ll will see what the ten year old inside me sees.

  1. Chandralal Colombage
    May 16, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    Goodonya son. I think your appreciation of the role played by the armed forces is commendable. Many innocent lives were protected by the actions and presence of the army, navy and air force. I am also however, very happy that you have stayed away from the battlefields!

  2. May 17, 2012 at 7:45 am

    “This parade for the government is an opportunity to remind people that they defeated terrorism, freed the country and basically deserve the unending power that is before them.”

    Untrammeled power is the most dangerous thing.

    http://jestforkicks.blogspot.com/2011/09/need-for-limits-on-power.html

    • May 17, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      Yeah, but do not forget we as a whole have allowed them this ego. When the last Presidential election came up we had no qualms about having it fought over the war issue or between two men who were directly involved.
      The time has come to say “thank you for ending the war, now what are you going to do for us”? When that happens perhaps their “war ego” will deflate.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

