Home > Personal > The ‘View’

The ‘View’

After close on a week of silence I think I have broken through my barrier and am able to post a few new posts. For those who have been following my blog I apologise for the lack of activity.

For most people when they start their day it often has a semblance of order and routine, unfortunately that does not exist for me. I would like to place the blame for this at the feet of having enjoyed a lifestyle worthy of a University student and then one of a person working for an NGO. The day never starts with my alarm going off and me calmly waking up. No, instead for me the day starts with a sudden awakening almost as if I have realised I have overslept, this happens far too often to be a coincidence. This has been happening earlier and earlier that the idea that I have actually overslept is losing any real meaning. I drag myself out of the bed after contemplating sleeping in a little longer to just go look out the window.

The view from there is something a lot of people are not lucky enough to wake up to and really does help making wake up early worthwhile.

Facing this view from my window I am able to take a few minutes and relax my mind. It drifts and find myself thinking about numerous different topics. These range from what the day will be like, to what it would be like to be out there living in a rural place doing a job that I really love rather than one which is more out of necessity. My imagination begins to run wild as I begin to formulate different issues I could write on. It is the sight of the greenery in what is slowly yet surely becoming a concrete jungle. In the distance there is the sign of the development that is overtaking Colombo. It represents the idea of how even while escaping in to the view outside my window the daily routine is slowly encroaching back in to my life. This moments escape from the reality that surrounds me is all I need before my dog’s barking brings me crashing back down to the present

Waking up to a view of this magnitude really helps put the world back into perspective and prepares me for the madness that awaits me in the city and the world of work. I turn away from the window and once again step back onto the carousel that is our daily lives. Invariably I will have an argument with my mother about breakfast which I still firmly believe cannot be properly eaten at 7am.

After getting ready and rushing out of the house the chaos on the roads prepares me for what will be the fast paced day that awaits me. Yet it is the view that greets me every morning that I wake up which allows me the escape from the madness. It acts as a pause and review button in my life. I am able to stop and reflect on what has passed and what is awaiting me out there.

Categories: Personal
  1. Nanaimo
    September 22, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Breakfast is great at anytime!

    Gorgeous view. You must let me see sometime soon 😉

  2. September 22, 2010 at 10:54 am

    It’s good to find that one thing that you can look at and be glad for in your life! Life is crazy, but it’s the things that come free that are always the most valuable… 🙂

  3. Chin
    September 23, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Always ALWAYS loved the view from this room… think i’ve stood or sat there and looked out for a few weeks in total… I love wide open spaces

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

